Questions regarding Weber carb for my MK2 Driver 1.6 Auto

Discussion in 'Engines' started by xcellent, Mar 4, 2007.

1. xcellent New Member

Hello,

Sorry for the re-post... I found out the thread I posted earlier has no contents.. wierd...

Anyways, I've decided to ditch the Pierburg 2E2 and bought a Weber carb 32/34 DMTL.. So going through the instructions + haynes manual. (I am a beginner BTW!)

I've managed to remove the Carb, but I am quite confused about the vacuum connection.

The Weber instruction says "For Automatic transmission vehicles fitted with a vacuum control solenoid located on the bulkhead.......", but I have no idea what Vacuum control solenoid is... does anyone know if this exists on my car?

Here is what I've done so far
    [​IMG]

Look forward to any assistance!

Best regards,
    Jay
    Southampton

2. rubjonny

rubjonny Administrator Staff Member Admin

That yellow/white thing is a non-return valve, it shouldn't be fitted inline with the advance unit though, just connect the vacuum line straight to that pipe.

You'll need to connect the coolant pipe from the metal pipe to the rear of the inlet manifold, then I'd just throw the webber on and forget about the vacuum solonoid unless the car gives you any trouble!

3. maxmo

maxmo Forum Member

EZ pete has a thread about this vacuum control solenoid somewhere. Think he has come to the conclusion that 1.6 cars don't have it. My 1989 1600 driver auto certainly doesn't have one if that helps.

4. xcellent New Member

cheers guys! I feel so much confident on carrying out the job now!

I think I am going to try taking off the inlet manifold first to check the rubber grommet swelling, as the car often suffers from run-on. I dunno if I am competent enough but I will give it a go anyways...

will keep you posted!

5. rubjonny

yeah I bet the swollen o'ring is the root cause of all your carb problems, its the #1 suspect for rich running which leads to excessive carbon build up and then over-running.