S3 1.8t 20v Q's

Discussion in '1.8 & 1.8T' started by Fenn, Sep 21, 2006.

1. Fenn Forum Member

ok, i have a few question regarding a S3 engine im planing on installing in my mk2.

i'm new to turbo engines so bear with me.

wastgates. i assume it's the round thing on the turbo with an adjustable treaded bar coming out of it. what do they do, how do they work and will it need adjusting?

in car adjusatble boost systems. are they worth getting? whats the best ones to use and whats needed to get it working.

Boost guages. how much boost will a S3 engine produce? i what to get one, but want one that reads higher than the engines max boost. also whats involved/parts needed to get one working.

Thanks Rob:)

2. Seraph Banned

Theres no need to get involved(really) with manually adjusting the wastegate, they're controlled electronically anyway.
    Adjustable boost is only worth getting if you feel the need to adjust it! Your more likely to have a use for swapping between remap programs, than purely boost alone, and something like Revo has provision for this.
    As for guages, have a look here for info/ideas:click

3. Fenn Forum Member

how is the wastgate controlled electronically?

and do you know if a 15psi boost guage will be high enough?

4. Seraph Banned

well, im talkin porkies abit here.!

the process im talking about is concerned with the n75 valve, which actually controls charge pressure - so it is actually slightly different.
    Afaic, adjustment on w/g's is not something for the layperson.

5. e12_mat Forum Member

Dont get an adjustable boost gauge its to tempting to just turn the boost up slightly this is bad because if your injectors run out of duty cycle then the engine will run very lean and thats very bad or if your turbo starts over blowing i.e. it moves out of its performance envelope it will start producing huge amounts of heat which will ultimate causing knocking and lead to broken engine.