Sticky ? Paint ,panel repair thread? Can we do bodywork experts please???

Discussion in 'Styling, Trim and Bodywork' started by Sirguydo, Jun 11, 2014.

1. Sirguydo

Sirguydo Fastest milkman in the West Paid Member

I know this is a question a few of us ask and get great replies :thumbup: so can we build a definitive guide into general spraying and panel repair guide / patch spray/ touch up :thumbup:

Can one or two of you paint heroes start a new thread and we the get it made sticky at top of this section:thumbup:

2. pigbladder Forum Addict

im a painter if you have questions

would be a bit of a saga to write it all out to cover all jobs

theres some good youtube vids to give you an idea too

tshirt2k likes this.
  3. Sirguydo

Sirguydo Fastest milkman in the West Paid Member

I thought you were ;) but you've seen Niges thread club gti is all about knowledge and love manlol
    When your bored or got some time share a bit of your knowledge and love :thumbup:
    I won't be all down to you we get plenty of experts ;) on here to help us wiling divs :cry:
    Your help is great and just thinking we can make a great guide with the help of guys like you:thumbup:

The same goes for anyone else reading this please contribute then we can edit it into a top club gti guide:thumbup:

The thing is with the age of our classics [:D] we all need a bit of bodywork owners as well as carslol

4. pigbladder Forum Addict

prep
    first off wash down the panels with some soapy water and rinse well , then wipe with panel wipe and clean rags

rub down your old paint /scratches etc with 180-240 on a block ...take your time its all in the prep , never prime or paint over shiney paint

rust

remove as much rust as possible with wire wheels , sand blaster , dremel etc ..i dont really like rust lotions and potions they dont work well , but bilt hamber deox gel is a rust remover that works with repeated applications

primers