What cheap MiG welder?

Discussion in 'Tools, Equipment & Fasteners' started by TheSecondComing, Nov 28, 2006.

1. TheSecondComing Forum Addict

Looking to buy a cheap MiG, for bodywork. I already have a hefty stick welder, so no problems with welding heavy stuff. Getting fed up with having to borrow one all the time.
    Looking around the 150-170 mark, not a gasless one, not bothered about wee gas bottles as it won't get a huge lot of useand if needed I can borrow the "big bottle" one.
    I have all the other gubbins already so not bothered about the whole "kit", either.
    I've been welding bodywork with a stick welder for 10 years, but it's too much effort and time and practice (before every session!) to be bothered with any more.
    Reccomendations, gentlemen? (I was going to say "Ladies and Gentlemen", but girls can't weld due to having wombs).

2. A.N. Other Banned after significant club disruption Dec 5th 2

Clarke 135 TE - 188 - about as much as you're supposed to put through plug sockets without a hard wire.

PMSL :lol:

I hate to to do this :lol::

[​IMG]

3. MK2_GUY Forum Member

Well she has an excuse, shes a lesbian;) :lol:

4. Unknown Forum Junkie

Lesbian or not, you cant see anything of what you are doing without the goggles.... TSCs statement holds true.
    I cant remember the price but a mate of mine has a small SIP thingy for doing his bodywork stuff, works with fluxed wire or gas. Seems to do a decent job but I'm no expert critic of welding....

5. loadsavalves

loadsavalves Forum Member

I've got a cebora gas mig welder, 130 I think. It's a few years old now but has always given me good service.

6. prof Forum Addict

yeah i bought a clarke one about 10 years ago, still going strong.

7. TheSecondComing Forum Addict