Wiring up Armoured Cables - Advise Please

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Dave, Nov 12, 2010.

1. Dave

Dave *Very Smart* Pedantic Old Fart Paid Member

Hi folks.

I am installing an outside power supply to my little barn. Because I am not qualiied as an Electrician, I have to have the wiring inspected, by the regulating authority, to be issued with a certificate of compliance. Without the cert., I am not permitted to sell the property. EVER!

So. It has to be spot on!

Now:

The 2.5mm sq. armoured cable is colour coded: Brown - Black - Grey.

I assume that Brown is live! But. Which colour must I use for Earth? I shall, of course, be sheathing the earth wire with Green/Yellow sleeving.

As Black was once Neutral, should Grey be Earth?

Or. Does it matter? Can I just identify Neutral and Earth using, Blue - Green/Yellow, insulating tape?

Also:

At the feed point in the machinery room, I have followed convention and brought a non-fused supply into an MK Metalclad Plus JB, and attached the armoured cable gland and earthing therein.

Do I also have to terminate the cable in the same way in the barn? I was going to attach the armoured cable straight into the IP65 Consumer Unit, which is plastic. I don't think that IP65 or IP56 metal JBs are available. Or, can one get ingress seals to make an MK Metalclad Plus boxes up to IP65 or IP56?

Thanks in advance,

Dave.

2. EZ_Pete

EZ_Pete Forum Junkie

The armour wires are the earth, no?

Those are the new three-phase colours, so it looks like you may not have quite the right cable for single phase. Dunno, there's a few sparkies on here who'll no doubt help. :)

3. madasafish100

madasafish100 Forum Member

Finally a question not about cars so i will be the one in the "advice" seat for once lol :lol:

Brown= Live
    Grey has to be sleeved/taped as Blue and is now neutral
    Black had to be sleeved/taped green/yellow and is earth

This is trade norm so best keep it the same :thumbup: