the tdi mpg thread

Discussion in 'Diesel' started by LregG, Jan 18, 2012.

1. Dubnutter Forum Member

In looking at starting a mobile remap buisness anyway so the mk3 can stay as it is and just be a test bed.

2. Mike_H Forum Addict

It would be fine if you put brakes on the trailer...

3. Dubnutter Forum Member

Ah its alot of hassle for an 8 foot box trailer. Im sure its not as heavy as i think. Im probebly going to skick with a mk3 shell for slightly more comfort etc. mk2 shell is a bit light and suits a light rev'y engine.

4. m1keh Forum Member

I'd say an 02a was a better box for the tdi. Easily fitted to a mk2 anyway, more available and generally will be fitted to a donor car.

5. m1keh Forum Member

Any questions just ask, I'm no expert in the mobile business front of it but can point you in a good direction in terms of tools and software. Unless your thinking of going as a franchise? Even if you go franchise i can help i think....

6. Dubnutter Forum Member

Just came back from a round trip from salisbury to milton keynes which was an ideal time to test out the stage one ecu I recieved from m1ke today. After some initial teething problems on a small test run prior to leaving, it drove faultlessly.

Engine idles and runs smoother, torque curve is very consistant and smooth as is the over all power delivey. Pulls like a train in all gears and feels so much stronger. Turbo can be heard more and acceleration is very sharp but not so much of a spike, more a heavy shove.

Cruicaly, mpg is the same at 54mpg average, but this is with lots of motorway blips etc so could be even better on the gentle drive to town or work.

Slightly more smoke than before but the car is at 206k and deffinatly needs the timing setup after the cambelt change which should improve power, mpg and smoke slightly.

Cheers Mike - p.m'd

Last edited: Feb 11, 2012
  7. Fishman Forum Member

I have a 1200KG Seat Ibiza Mk2.