ebay HID kits for mk2 - what do i need ?

Discussion in 'Electrical' started by dUff, Oct 1, 2007.

1. dUff

dUff Administrator Admin

Hi
    My mk2 is gonna become a daily hack for a while so fancy a HID kit as driving in the wet last night was not great visibility and i already have 100w bulbs on a uprated loom.

I guess all i need is a kit that works for H4 bulbs

- what wattage should i go for ?
    - Should i get a bosh kit ?

I have seen kits from 59 to 250 on ebay and in shops, whats the differences

Any help would be great , complete newbie when it comes to HID`s having never had any

Cheers

2. Tomo IOW Forum Member

yeah im little un-clear of these,i was just gonna buy the kit and fit it,havnt got up-rated loom or anything,H7 i was looking at

3. sambo Paid Member Paid Member

Few days ago i fitted my kit i purchased in worthersee this year

It is AWESOME!

Make sure you know what you are getting as most are low beam only and if you are running single lamps on your golf it wont be good for you as you will not have high beam

My kit is low and high beam, uses trick lamps that have electric motors built into them and they spin instantly

Very cool and very efective

In fact it will be easier on your alternator as it draws less current than standard lamps due to use of high voltage transformers, which brings me to my next point

Dont buy cheap kits whith cheap wiring loom and cheap connectors as it could be potentially dangerous,high voltage/sparks/petrol do not mix!

My kit is really high quallity, every single connector is water/oil/petrol proof!

Only 3 wires to connect and away you go:)

4. Steve B Forum Junkie

just so your clear, these kits are illegal if they fit into your standard headlights, and also have to have high pressure washers and auto head light levelers to be legal.

you will probably end up dazzling a load of people if you just stik them in your own headlights

5. Drew21 Forum Member