My HND Motorsport Project Car...

Discussion in 'Members Gallery' started by Yoof, Jan 8, 2007.

1. Yoof Forum Member

Hi Everyone,

I don't know many of the Golf boys on here, but am unfortunately more than familiar with the Polo lot :lol:

I'm studying Motorsport Engineering at Brooklands College, the first ever race track is.... 200yds from my house, but unfortunately tescos have cut it up, along with Mercedez to build their own test track and museum! [:*:]

So, cars... my first (and current) is a 1991 Polo GT, home brewed throttle body conversion, big valve head, blah blah, still needs a few tweaks and mapping, but i'll hopefully sort that over easter when i'm home, oh its also got nitrous (i can't affford a g40)

And my second car is a 1981 Mk1 Polo. Purchased for the massive sum of 50! Unfortunalety some local kids smashed it up a little whilst at the back of my house, ho hum, i was gonna replace the windows anyway...

Enough chat, here's some pics and progress over the 10weeks i've been working on it, i get 4hours a week, so progress is slower than i'd like.

Oh before i forget, the main purpose of the project was to bring green fuels into Motorsport, i'll be using E85 as a fuel source (107 ocatne thank you!) and hopefully a home brewed 1.5 16v turbo motor, aiming for 230bhp.

Smashed windows, looking sorry for itself:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Moved the car into college nice warm workshop with air tools, welder, plasma cutter etc.

[​IMG]

First few weeks where spent stripping and inspecting some of the fiberglass repairs, in some cases they had been done well (as well as you can) but i prefer metal, so lots of bit where cut out for fresh bits to be welded in:

[​IMG]

All inner wings stipped of underseal, interior stripped of sound deadening, weighed in at 13kg, so not bad for free and a few hours!

Shell was now quite light:

[​IMG]